Stumptown 1991

| August/September 1992

  • Patten Bros, gas engine'
    Patten Bros, gas engine owned by Letnayne Cline of Cadiz, Ohio.
  • Huber Tractor
    Left to right: Cat 10, Custom Bear Lear, Allis Chalmers C, and 40-62 Huber on Tractor Row.

  • Patten Bros, gas engine'
  • Huber Tractor

Rt. 1, Box 332 Adena, Ohio 43901

The good Lord again blessed the Stumptown Steam Threshers Show crowd with beautiful weather for this year's event. The show opened with prayer by Lester Nabb and the raising of 'Old Glory' by the Cadiz Boy Scouts. Most of the steam engines were moving and the gas engines were popping as the show got into full swing.

The first chore for the sawmill was to square timbers for the shingle mill. The shingle mill was powered mostly by gas tractors this year. Souvenir shingles were made and given away. Corn meal was ground and sold both days and Dick Carnes entertained with his band organ. Plenty of food was sold by the Weirton Lions Club and the New Athens Firemen's Auxiliary, with soup beans cooked in an open kettle being their specialty.

At 12:45 the crowning of the 1991 Queen and Thresherman of the Year was featured, with Carl Jackowski named Thresherman and his wife, Gayle, crowned the Queen. They took their official ride in Ralph Jones' Model T truck.

At 1:00, the slow engine race got underway. Dennis Hudak was the winner on the Krofft family Case. The block race competition was very exciting. Three engines finished the event without knocking the block over, but Ray Sell had the least amount of time, so he was the winner.

After the races, threshing began with the A & T thresher and the Peerless engine. Sawing, baling, cornmeal grinding and shingle making continued until 3:30 when the Tri-Valley Farmers & Wives put on the Kiddie Tractor Pull. Results in Class 1 were: Kate Rogers, Cadiz, Ohio in first place; R. J. Miller, Martins Ferry, in second place; Mike Thatcher, Flushing, in third place. The results in Class II were: Daren Lucas, Freeport, in first place; Dale Ferrell, Belmont, in second place; and Casey Huffman, Seville, in third place. The results in Class III were: Bill Blakley, Alledonia, in first place; Derek Swalley, St. Clairsville, in second place; John Barrett, Hendrysburg, in third place. The results in Class IV were: Matt Modra, Shadyside, in first place; Brad Thornsburg, Barnesville, in second place; Lee Ann Lucas, Piedmont, in third place. The results in Class V were: Kevin Lara, Piedmont, in first place; John O'Neil, Cadiz, in second place; Brenda Ronevich, Bellaire, in third place. We wish to thank all the youngsters who participated and the Tri-County Young Farmers for putting on the show.