International Cockshutt Club Organized

| May/June 1990

  • Tractor

  • Tractor

8315 Timberlane Road, Painesville, Ohio 44077

In November 1989, an organizational meeting of the International Cockshutt Club was held in Columbus, Ohio. The purpose of the club as stated in the adopted by-laws is 'To unite into one organization, regardless of religion, race, creed, color, or nationality, all persons interested in the preservation and exhibition of Cockshutt/Co-op Farm Equipment and related subsidiaries and affiliates.' Over 40 people were present at the organizational meeting held in Columbus. People from Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, and Ontario were in attendance. A dinner was served before the meeting. Acting chairman for the meeting was Ken Claar of Painesville, Ohio. Diana Myers of LaRue, Ohio was acting secretary, and Anna May Schwaderer was acting treasurer. Club by-laws were discussed and adopted. Twenty-one directors were appointed to the board and club officers elected. The new officers of the club are: president, Ken Claar; vice president, Phil Heisey of Spencerport, New York; secretary, Rita Bader of Marion, Ohio; treasurer, Bob Schwaderer, of Marion, Ohio; and membership secretary, Diana Myers.

It was decided that the first official International Cockshutt Show and Annual Meeting would be held in August 1991 in Ontario, Canada. The board of directors is planning to have a kick-off show and meeting sometime in 1990. Time and place to be announced at a later date.

Annual membership is $10 (US funds) per person. Family memberships and lifetime memberships are presently not available. The membership at this time does not include a club newsletter; however, a newsletter is being planned.

Anyone interested in becoming a member can contact the Membership Secretary at the address below for additional information. You do not need to own Cockshutt/Co-op tractors and/or equipment to be a member.

The club is also looking for people to help on various committees.


Gas Engine Magazine A_M 16Gas Engine Magazine is your best source for tractor and stationary gas engine information.  Subscribe and connect with more than 23,000 other gas engine collectors and build your knowledge, share your passion and search for parts, in the publication written by and for gas engine enthusiasts! Gas Engine Magazine brings you: restoration stories, company histories, and technical advice. Plus our Flywheel Forum column helps answer your engine inquiries!

Be sure to take advantage of the Square Deal Subscription Program.

  • No Missed Issues.

  • No Renewal Notices.

  • No Additional Cost.

The Square Deal Subscription Program is designed as a paperless transaction with automatic renewals at a preferred low rate.   With advanced electronic notification, a 100% satisfaction guarantee and an easy opt-out plan, the Square Deal Subscription Program is the best value, risk free, eco-friendliest way to subscribe.

Facebook YouTube


click me