STEMGAS CATALOG NO. 1

BOOKS, CARDS AND OTHER PUBLICATIONS

Content Tools

This is our first attempt at a catalogue for readers of Iron-Men Album and Gas Engine and all other persons interested in steam and gas on the farm and elsewhere.

We will revise and expand as necessary. Your suggestions are welcomed. If you have or know a book that you feel others would want to read, tell us about it.

Cost of the catalog per single copy is 10 cents, to defray our expenses in preparing it. For 1974, that's just a postage stamp. It is included in the magazines as a bonus.

Gerald Lestz, Editor & Publisher, Stemgas Publishing Co.

MISCELLANEOUS

A GENIUS IN THE FAMILY

Private life of Sir Hiram Stevens Maxim -inventor. 'As a work of humor and a picture of an unusual father, brilliant and attractive' -New York Times -5-3/8 x 8-1/2 paperback

$1.00

ABOVE THE CIVIL WAR

By Eugene B. Block

Life of Thaddeus Lowe, balloonist, inventor, railroad builder, hero.

$4.50

AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF PETER GEISER INVENTOR

The farmer boy, in whose mind 'The Geiser Separator' had its origin. 9-1/2 x 6 paperback

$1.00

BELLE OF LOUISVILLE

By Alan L. Bates

Ohio River Steamboat. You'll cherish the author's wry humor and have many a roaring laugh over these antics afloat -6 x 9-1/2

$4.00

THE THOMAS A. EDISON ALBUM

By Lawrence A. Frost

The active mind of Thomas Alva Edison, 8-1/2 x11

$12.95

FOLK ART OF RURAL PENNSYLVANIA

By Frances Lichten

Reprint of the classic book profusely illustrated, with lots of color -9-1/2 x12

$4.95

HERE ROLLED THE COVERED WAGONS

By Albert & Jane Salisbury

Travel the deep-rutted trails that wind along the landmarks of the fabulous Old West . . . choke on the acrid dust of a thousand creaking wagon trains! 225 original photos. 264 pages

$12.95

HISTORIC WESTERN CHURCHES

By Lambert Florin

In the author's superb photography and his intensive research into the history of each church, is a fascinating study of a subject you never thought much about - stories of the pastors that could well be called angels in the flesh.

$12,95

MEANWHILE DOWN ON THE FARM

By Al Herman

Pictures and articles reproduced herein are from the author's collection of 'The Thresher World and Farmer's Magazine, The Thresherman's Review, The American Thresherman and the Canadian Thresherman - dating from 1898 to 1930 - 8-1/2. x 10-1/2 paperback

$2.25

MY FRIEND THE INDIAN

By McLaughlin

Book is built around 31 full color reproductions of Indian paintings by Daniel Shaw Buisson, MacLaughlin's nephew. Book is beautifully prepared in a limited edition. 1.0 x 13-1/2

$19.95

OF MEN AND A MIGHTY MOUNTAIN

By W.E. Blackhurst

The drama of one of the greatest lumber operations of the eastern U.S. unfolds on the pages of this book as the story of the harvest of one of the greatest and richest loads of timber to be found anywhere is told. Rough and cold Cheat Mountain 'a mighty mountain' is the main character of this book

$4.00

OLD TIME AGRICULTURE IN THE ADS

By Robert Karolevitz

Pictures of the 'wish book' variety -- all sorts of home and farm items that are now antiques

$2.00

OVER THE COUNTER AND ON THE SHELF

By Laurence A. Johnson

This account of early American storekeeping was written by the man who set up the second supermarket east of the Mississippi -- picture of American's growth and development. 8 x 10

$2.98

JAMES REES & SONS CATALOG

By Capt. Frederick Way, Jr.

This is a reprint of an original 1913 copy of the Rees Catalog. Capt. Frederick Way, Jr. is from Sewickley, Pa.

$3.00

REMEMBER WHEN

By Allen Churchill

A loving look at days gone by -1900-1942 - 8 x 9-1 /2 hardcover

$5.95

SEVENTY YEARS DOWN THE ROAD

By Herbert R. Reese, Sr.

 An autobiography of action-packed experiences at the forefront of development of our mechanized age. A man whose life revolved around farming and who had interesting life experiences in farming, threshing, road building, trucking and hair-raising adventures along the Alcan Highway

$2.50

THE SHELL BOOK OF COUNTRY CRAFTS

By James Arnold

This book, in its treatment of the various crafts, makes no distinction between those which are thriving, no longer practiced and those which have been revived. Concerned with people's ability to make things by hand, out of suitable materials

$7.95

TENNESSEE ERNIE FORD'S BOOK OF FAVORITE HYMNS

By C. Charles Eggett

An inspiring collection of hymns, spirituals, and carols - selected and introduced by Tennessee Ernie Ford - arranged for piano with chord symbols for guitar, chord organ and accordion -8 x 11 hardcover -125 pages

$1.98

THIS WAS LOGGING

By Ralph W. Andrews

Incomparable picture history of an unforgettable period from bull teams on the skid roads to cold decking with steel tower skidders

$12.95

THIS WAS SAW MILLING

By Ralph W. Andrews

Old timers reading this book will sniff the good smell of sawdust, the young' uns will say, 'Could these things have been?' 8-1/2 x 11 hardcover

$3.95

THIS WAS TRUCKING

Robert A. Karolevitz

A pictorial history of the first quarter century of the trucking industry. 8-3/8 x 10-1/2 300 pictures -192 pages

$3.95

THIS WAS WHEAT FARMING

By Kirby Brumfield

The lore of the harvest is the keynote of this book. Kirby sows grains of interest in every paragraph, lifts farming right out of the soil into fascinating history. Nearly 300 pictures

$7.95

TIMBER

By Ralph W. Andrews

A great book with tales and pictures of early logging camps, river drives, high climbing, lumber flumes, hand logging, skid roads, forest fires, and labor troubles

$12.95

TUMULT ON THE MOUNTAINS -Lumbering in W. Va. 1770-1920

By Roy B. Clarkson

A truly enjoyable book with educational merit, indexed - 257 full-page pictures

$12.00

WESTERN WAGON WHEELS

By Lambert Florin

A pictorial memorial to the wheels that won the West, Conestogas, Studebakers, hand carts and water wheels, from baby carriages to the ornate hearses

$12.95

A group of colorful paperback 8-1/2 x 11 books at $1.25 each

BOTTLES

A sampler of the collectibles - 32 pages

BRIDGES - a pictorial presentation Covered bridges of Pa. Dutchland - 42 pages

CIRCUS

The circus story with a pictorial array - 40 pages

EARLY AMERICAN BROADSIDES & BALLADS

Broadsides were the forerunners of the newspapers - 42 pages

HEX SIGNS and other Barn Decorations 42 pictorial pages

LOGGING IN PENNS NORTH WOODS

A pictorial presentation of the period when Penns Woods was our nation's leading lumbering state - 42 pages

MEET THE MENNONITES

By John D. Hostetter A pictorial presentation - 42 pages

PENNSYLVANIA DUTCH FOLKLORE

A collection of amusing Pa. Dutch Expressions; history, religion, family life, hex signs, dress, recipes - full color

THE PENNSYLVANIA DUTCH

A reprint of an 1869 essay by Phebe E. Gibbons - 40 pages

POTTERY

A utilitarian folk craft - 32 pages

COOK BOOKS

AMISH RECIPES

Favorite Amish recipes, from central Pennsylvania 700 recipes p.p.

$4.75

THE COUNTRY KITCHEN

A picture book of stoves, utensils, churns and kitchen equipment, and a handy guide to building a brick oven, baking bread, making cheese, care of milk, etc.

$1.25

MENNONITE COMMUNITY COOKBOOK

By Mary Emma Showalter

A big book full of good cooking 1,400 recipes

from Mennonite kitchens, p.p.

$8.45

COOKING WITH THE PA. DUTCH

A collection of choice and tried old-time home and farm recipes - 5-3/4 x 8-1/2 paperback - 32 pages

$.55

COOKING 'WAY DOWN SOUTH IN DIXIE

Nearly 200 tested recipes popular in the Southland-5-3/4 x 8-1 /2-32 pages

$.55

OLD TIME COOKERY

A unique collection of quaint and genuine Early American Recipes, popular from Maine to Florida in Colonial Days - 5-3/4 x 8-1 /2 -32 pages

$.55

PENNSYLVANIA DUTCH COOKBOOK

Fine old recipes made famous by the early 'Dutch' settlers in Penna., 6x9 paperback -62 pages

$1.25

PENNSYLVANIA DUTCH COOKING

A collection of time-tested recipes for preparing many of the traditional foods and dishes favored by the Pa. Dutch - 48 pages -paperback-6 x 9

$1.25

PIES AND PASTRIES

Pa. Dutch traditional recipes for pies and pastries -6 x 4-1/2 paperbound

$. 25

REDUCED FOR CLEARANCE

Restored Village Directory 1971-72, and Nautical Directory 1971-72; both were $1.75 each, now $1.00 each.

BAER'S AGRICULTURAL ALMANAC

Weather predictions, farm advice, recipes, phases of the moon, woodcut pictures, 96 pages, 75 cents.

LOCOMOTIVEChristmas card, colorful painting of engine 'Briarcliff' by W.L. Bresse, with 'Greetings' 12 cards, 12 envelopes, $1.85.

LANCASTER DEPOT -- from an old engraving showing the first railroad station at Lancaster, Pa., about 1830, with locomotive and part of a freight car, 9x6, suitable for framing, 25 cents A copy, 1 dozen, cards and envelopes, $2.75.

AMISH BELIEFS, CUSTOMS and DISCIPLINE, by Gerald S. Lestz, with many instructive photographs, $2.00.

NOTE TO CUSTOMERS:

Add 25 cents for each item you buy, to cover handling and postage. P.P. means it is postpaid.

Please remit with order, by check or money orders payable to Stemgas Publishing Co.

We are adding new books and other items as fast as we can find them. If you have a suggestion, let us know.

Prices here all subject to revision, as wholesale rates go up.