Early Day Gas Engine & Tractor Association, Inc.

Content Tools

3510 Brooklake Rd. Brooks, OR 97303

This month we continue with the minutes of EDGE&TA's National meeting, held August 17, 1991, as recorded by secretary Menno Kliewer.

A letter in the form of a motion was presented by Branch #3 that the National be more explicit with advance information regarding the methods of nominations and election of National officers. This motion died for lack of a second.

The 1991 travel allowance for the National officers should remain at $.20 per mile for this year. It was M/S/C to that effect.

Representative Gus Peterson from Monument, Oregon presented an invitation from EDGE&TA Branch #12 to host the 1992 National Meeting and Show, on August 15-16 at Union Gap, Washington. He presented directions, accommodations and general information for all members to attend. It was M/S/C that this invitation be accepted.

President Versteeg introduced Donald W. Knowles, editor of Engineers & Engines Magazine, which is our official publication. Don expressed appreciation for attending and becoming more acquainted with EDGE&TA members.

The retirement of Vice President Del Seuser was announced by President Versteeg and gave Del praise for his 15 years of dedicated loyalty and service to the EDGE&TA Association and presented him with a plaque in his honor. Del presented his farewell speech and thanked the membership for their cooperation.

The question was presented whether or not we should continue to present plaques of appreciation to other former EDGE&TA National officers who have spent years of dedicated service. It was M/S/C that we present another award in the coming year.


President Versteeg introduced all the candidates and the new method of election. This took place either by proxy or from the floor, each branch casting their one (1) vote as prescribed by the by-laws. The following persons were elected for the coming year:

President, Jack Versteeg, Branch #15; Vice President, Charley Stark, Branch #16; Secretary-Treasurer, Menno Kliewer, Branch #8; Director of East Region, Jeffrey Jablonski, Branch #10; Director of West Region, Gus Peterson, Branch #12.

At this time President Versteeg gave opportunity for questions, comments or dissatisfaction regarding the new method of election of officers with one (1) vote per branch. No response was presented. One suggestion was made to mail all the ballots in. It was decided however to leave it alone for awhile to get the kinks worked out.

Special announcement was made by President Versteeg that the final deadline for all 1991 National dues to be in the hands of the National Treasurer by December 31, 1991. NO EXCEPTIONS. Any branch not having fulfilled their obligation is subject to dismissal from the National EDGE&TA. This is important as the National has to close their books as close to the first of the year as possible.

The Branch #11 show report indicated that their exhibition presented 300 engines, 165 tractors, 53 models and six steam engines.

Floyd Moore, president of Branch #11, and all members of Branch #11 who helped put on the show were roundly applauded for their efforts.

It was M/S/C that the 1991 National Meeting be adjourned. This was the shortest meeting on record, lasting one hour and four seconds.